…and some positivity

So yesterday was a better day. I had several things I wanted to achieve. Ambitious but a drive to not hide away. I got out earlier and loaded the car with recycled card from the garage, a remnant from the family move. Made it to the recycling centre and one target achieved. Then into town, parked up so a walk in to the centre. Barbers was shut for lunch, never mind I could come back on the return journey. Onwards to Love Cake, but today not cake but lunch. A great bowl of Goat-sausage casserole and chunky bread and Fruit Punch tea to accompany it. 

Next an impromptu trip to the library which fortuitously was on one of its open days. So I now belong to the Dorset library system and have some books to read, mainly about the local area in my thirst to know more about it. Then buying daily paper for my mother in law and a walk back up the hill.

The barbers was open so shorn and shorter easy to manage hair once more. So only one target not achieved – moving fern can wait another day.

The evening involved lots of catch up with friends on FB and Twitter including offering some support to other friends in need as well as receiving support. It’s good to give back too.

Awaken today to a bright new day. Let’s have another good one.

The ghosts in white are pots wrapped against the frosts we have had. 
I did all the trips above with my wife, not venturing out alone yet but soon, maybe soon.

3 responses to “…and some positivity

  1. Andy, I don’t mean this to be flippant, but well done.
    I know how difficult times like this are for you as my husband has suffered anxiety and depression for a few years now and very rarely leaves the house. A day like you describe here would mean a few months not going out for him. He will only go if I go, so restricted to weekends and holidays if at all, as I work full time. He becomes stressed and physically sick, not just before going out but at the thought of it. He sets goals, then feels really bad if he doesn’t do them. Sometimes they are just to do something in the house.
    You have made a huge decision to leave teaching and I will be thinking of you and wish you well. Opportunities will come to you.
    One day at a time, if that is what it takes. You share your experiences and this supports others. Thank you for that.

    • Beth, not taken to be flippant. I am glad that I am able to go out. I have had previous episodes where I have curled up in bed, duvet to my nose and not left the room for two days. Please pass my best wishes to your husband. We have spent the morning outside gardening and then I did some sketching, came in as hands were very cold and just in time as it’s just started to rain again.

  2. Stress the positives Andy. every one is a step forward. i hope today is another positive one.
    Good wishes.

Leave a Reply

