Positive aspects of my weekend

As a postscript to my last post a moment ago I have taken part in bits of three edchats this weekend on Twitter. On Friday night at 11pm I could only stay awake for the first 10 minutes of #satchatoc. Then I awoke. Around 4 am and read back where I had dozed off,then joined in #INZpired where I was called dedicated – make that a semi somniac. Then this morning a brief visit as part of #aussieED.

Why three chats from the other side of the world?
1) they are at times I am not trying to work
2) the crowd involved are always welcoming
3) I feel at home and part of a community

The oddest feeling is seeing people list me with Australian teachers – did they not see my profile? This global chat is one of my greatest gains from using Twitter. The times for #satchatoc and #INZpired may not suit but #aussieED at 9.30 am on a Sunday is drawing in more UK educators most weeks. The issues for teachers are very similar the world over – open your mind to share a little further afield.

April 11 I get to share my enthusiasm in leading a workshop at The Geographical Association annual conference on Developing global networks, I look forward to who comes along to the session.

Leave a Reply

