#Nurture1415 – the review of the year

OK, #nurture1415 – the review: these are what I recorded, so  what has happened? – see R follow ups

1) Self

1.1 Continuing to develop my BD management. Currently doing two therapy based courses and setting separate targets that include using my mood diary, mindfulness time, and increasing my exercise. (1)

– 1.1R  I returned to work by the end of January and I have not had a day off since due to own mental health – the mood diary has gone by the way, I still blog when things are hard and I use a range of mindfulness apps through headphones. I did use in lessons from Feb – June. I have kayaked a lot until September – need to get back on the water. Also for my 50th I bought a new bicycle – used a lot again until September and just been out today.

1.2 Being in work, re establishing a good attendance record. Possibly changing jobs / school, although hitting 50 may hinder that (any offers lol?). Enjoying my teaching. (2)

– 1.2 R As above my attendance has been vastly better, even though some of the comments made in my Return to Work meeting in. January came across as threatening. I have moved jobs and school and I am enjoying the new job as Head of Geography a great deal. I continue to really enjoy my teaching and I am now developing two younger staff too.

1.3 Spending more time with family and not multi tasking when I have time off. (3)

– 1.3R this has varied as no. 1 son no longer lives at home, but this has helped all of us overall this year. I still multi task to much but there has been more family hugs and I feel this side has improved especially after the happiness of moving schools.

1.4. Taking time out for exercise (1.1) and making increasing use of my kayak bought this summer as the weather gradually warms up. (4)

-1.4R I have exercised more overall. In the summer, I cycled up to 54 miles in a single day which marked a great outlet. The kayaking has allowed me to explore and also paddled with an old college friend on the sea. My wife, Anne, also had her first kayaking session and we had a great outing completed with cake and tea afterwards.

2) Blog

2.1 Write more posts and try to go back to a balance of more education and less mental health. (5)

-2.1R I have done more blogging. This has varied between this blog but also on http://gasigict.wordpress.com and http://globalsolo.wordpress.com – new adventures started in 2014.

2.2. Develop more contributions with @ieshasmall to the mindshackles project. (6)

-2.2R Yes I have done more Mindshackles work, kayaking images and my socks getting their own interview.

3) Twitter

Develop more links across subject boundaries and globally. (7)

– 3R Well this has been achieved beyond my wildest dreams. New Years Eve saw the start of a new adventure. I set up accounts for: Globalsolo. A network idea – for educators interested in solo taxonomy that I have increasingly become an advocate for and evangelist about at Teachmeets and such events. Let’s just say that on Dec 22 the Twitter network stands at over 1770 current members / followers.

Then in May linked to my Geographical Association work I started a Twitter account and blog to gather more shared ideas about websites, apps and resources online to share them with other geography educators. Again a great success and this account on Twitter currently approaches 850 followers.

I have also taken part in a number of links through participating in online chats including #satchatoc (Oceania) and conferences in the USA and Australia.

4) CPD / Presenting

4.1. Teachmeets – continue to contribute as a presenter, already signed up for Pedagoolondon2 in March and sharing a workshop at Northern Rocks 14 in June. Also joint planning of TMHavering in February with @talkingdonkeyre. (8)

– 4.1R Well I presented at a range of Teachmeets, I made video clips for others. Northern Rocks was my biggest event to date and a great privilege- and re invited for 2015. Andy Lewis (@iteachre) had to step in when I was ill, however in 2014 has run three Teachmeets in February, July and November – so a clear success.

4.2. Developing the pedagogy group in current school to generate wider discussion and some action research projects. (9)

– 4.2 R I was discouraged from extras on return at the start of the year – discussions still went on, but an opportunity missed by the school – in my opinion and no longer on staff. I am already involved in discussions about pedagogy at my new school and have also delivered IWB training too.

4.3. To learn some coding as part of Key Stage 3 computing course – currently able to use Scratch and Hopscotch, just started online Python course. (10)

– 4.3R I started to learn some coding then found I would not be teaching IT so stepped back but enjoy discussions about the use of Scratch with my son.

4.4. Delivering a beginners apps workshop at the Geographical Association conference in April in Guildford as a representative of the IT Special interest group. (11)

– 4.4R the only apps workshop, seating for 40 or so and a final audience with people turned away of 69. The session included dancing – see April -/ May posts. A good session although number of people changed many of the plans made.

5) General

5.1. Developing the elusive balance between work and home or at least increasing the non working aspect. (12)

-5.1R maybe / maybe not, but as I am in a new post and school a much happier Andy

5.2. Celebrating my 50th at Easter. (13)

– 5.2R oh yes, two zip wire rides, one a.m. And one p.m. Over the Eden Project – very memorable, like a kid in a sweetshop. I have embraced being 50 and actually more positive with it too.

5.3. A desire for a happier year with less than 4 months hit by BD etc. (14)

– 5.3R overall the above and many other events. Yes there have been hardships but more with others health than with mine and a new meds routine which suits me well.

There we are, comments welcomed on here or via Twitter. 2015 – I will set targets and may even try 15 like this with subsections, but not yet.

3 responses to “#Nurture1415 – the review of the year

  1. Pingback: #Nurture 1415 posts all in one place | A Roller In The Ocean

  2. Pingback: The Nurture 14/15 Collection | Freeing the Angel

  3. It sounds as if you’ve achieved a huge amount this year, Andy – hope you feel proud!

    It was good to meet you face to face in 2014 and hope we manage that again in 2015. May it be a positive and rewarding year for you, professionally and personally.

Leave a Reply

