Visiting #home

Sunday morning sees me driving down to East Kent to visit my parents, sister who returns to New Zealand tomorrow and to see Mum’s new nursing home.

I arrive early while they are at church so go on a nostalgic geographer trip around the north coast of Thanet. As I am a geographer I take images of the coastline for future lessons on The Thames estuary, coastline, coastal defences, geology, tourism, …whichever takes my fancy really.

IMG_2339.JPG

As I approach the “Isle” formerly cut off from the mainland by the Wantsum Channel which is guarded at each end by Reculver and Richborough forts. I pull off the dual carriageway, look across the marshes to the coastal wall.

Then on , up on to the island. I drive down to Birchington on Sea and look back to Minnis Bay.

IMG_2340.JPG

To be continued the church party has returned…

Leave a Reply

