#Nurture1314 the review of 2013

20131224-203441.jpg

2013 has been a year of ups, downs and plateaus. After an extended period of the Black Dog I reviewed my year using this blog to look back – apparently this is know as rigour and evidence based.

2013

13 highlights

1) Self
As many of my regular readers are aware this has been a year of several extreme points. Recently depression and anxiety have see me signed of work so a review could possibly be very negative. Reviewing the year shows that: March,May, June and December have seen my lowest points. However, that means that 8 months of the year have been more positive and I need to remember this.

My blog now features a Mental Health category so readers looking for that do not need to read about pedagogy. The lows have been triggered by events within my close family and within myself and my own self esteem at the end of the year. (1)

2) Geographer
My main subject continues to be my focus although I also teach some Key Stage 3 computing.

2.1 The geography has included online research of global news stories by myself and lead TA, inc. the Queensland, Australia floods of February. (2)

2.2 Attending the national Geographical Association. Conference at Easter in Derby,where I just happened to holidaying nearby! My continued involvement in the IT special interest group and production of the revised apps sheet that was popular at conference. (3)

2.3 integrating pedagogy ideas read about or seen at events into my everyday teaching. From the 7Es lesson plan (@HThompson1982), Solo Taxonomy (@arti_choke), Ethic of Excellence (Ron Berger). (4)

3) Presenting
A busy year where I have presented to peers through talks, #edchats, video clips and talking face to face.

3.1 The year started with BETT13. I went on the Friday as I had got a ticket to the evenings Teachmeet. Usually, I have wandered around collecting information for myself and colleagues occasionally meeting familiar faces. This year I had met 10 people I knew before I had even got in. The day was a celebration for the movement to promote pupil Digital Leaders. I shared two Teachmeet Takeovers with: @dawnhallybone (geography apps) and @sheliBB (digital leaders). I met over 50 fellow tweeters. Then in the evening the Teachmeet. I had got involved and had agreed to investigate the proposed raffle focus and to sell tickets. Using web research I managed to make contact and then speak on the phone to the bank co-ordinating and the Parents organisation VP for Sandy Hook Elementary. On the night I was very hyper and pursued ticket sales with verve, I earnt a new nickname “Raffle guy” and we raised £650 far beyond my expectations. (5)

3.2 Digital Leaders – a focus from 2012 that continued mainly through leading our school group under my Cross curricular ICT TLR role. In July we filmed with Promethean with a new IWB model and now feature as UK secondary exemplar. We also reviewed some prototypes which we can not disclose. I was also invited to BCHS and spoke with staff who re interested in taking the idea forward. I also went to an event organised by @EPPS_ICT locally. (6)

3.3 Teachmeets – I spoke at 6 during the year- Milton Keynes, PedagooLondon TM, Essex (co host), Surrey (Garden Shed Productions video), Promethean Advocates face to face, TMCollaborate. My main topic this year – Solo taxonomy. (7)

3.4 Teachtweets – an innovation from #ukedchat. Presenters make pre recorded video clips which are shared and the creators are available to answer any queries. An ongoing friendship with @ICTMagic that had started at TMEssex in Feb 2012, meant I made several contributions during the year using arrange of app based clips. (8)

3.5 Edchats – I have joined in a range of these this year in New Zealand, South Africa, Oceania, USA, UK. At Easter I hosted a ukedchat and then in April alongside @aliceleung from Australia we ran #sologlobalchat. We hosted 40 educators from the UK, New Zealand and Australia for an hour on a Saturday. Alice wrote a great summary blogpost including our chat archive. (9)

4) CPD attended / developing
Most of my CPD is self generated. The following are more examples:

4.1 Education reading – I bought a number of ed. books at Easter but didn’t start reading them until the start of the summer holidays. The three I have read so far are: @HYWEL_ROBERTS Oops- since lent to a trainee at school; @arti_choke Solo book 1 (long overdue); Ron Berger – An Ethic of Excellence. I still have Full on Learning, The Lazy teacher, and some new kindle books to read too. Many of these ideas are already seen in my teaching. (10)

4.2 Day events – I attended Pedagoolondon in March and TLT13 in October. Both included a great range of workshops and I look forward to their 2014 sequels. (11)

4.3 Others – ongoing work with the UK and Ireland Promethean Advocates team. Starting an in school cross departmental pedagogy group. (12)

5) Blogging / Tweeting

Another busy year for this blog. I have submitted some posts for #Blogsync by @Edutronic_Net. Taken part in @ieshasmall ‘s Mindshackles project and tweeted… lots. Twitter has taught me so much and provides such a great supportive network that I am proud to belong to. (13)

Here ends the review aspect …

One response to “#Nurture1314 the review of 2013

Leave a Reply

