Reading …

image

At Easter I posted on Twitter how I had bought myself a collection of educational texts to reinforce my own practice.

At last I am in the right headspace (see Life … posts series) to read.

I have been using and advocating the use of solo taxonomy within my own school, at teachmeets and online globally for about 14 months. At last I have read this first book.

I like the clear links to classroom exemplars and templates ready to use with supporting documentation and self assessment grids.

In planning my new more active classroom for 2013/2014 I will be looking to use a range of these HOT SOLO maps. The distinction made between declarative knowledge (knowing about things) and functioning knowledge (performance based on knowing about things)(p.11) seem useful in the light of the revised Ofsted Inspection Handbook for September 2013 where the term knowledge features.

I intend to develop my use of solo and share with colleagues how it can be used across a range of subjects in my own school.

Leave a Reply

