Image

Teachmeets – who hasn’t heard of them?

20121111-020506.jpg

I expect that most blog readers are amongst the educators that have heard of or attended or presented at Teachmeets. I maybe wrong – please comment. An informal gathering for those that seek their own CPD often and are connected with other educators.

This week I had an opportunity to present at Teachmeetipad (#tmipad or #teachmeetipad). It was organised by Anthony Evans of St Aidan’s Primary, Seven Kings, Ilford. He had run the first TM I attended 4 years ago when I sat in awe of the ideas and presenters.

#Tmipad was great as about 70 educators working across education from Reception to HE shared ideas with commercial organisations / sponsors ( not usually a TM feature). The iPad focus meant that many app ideas were shared but also how technology linked to lessons under Ofsted and the importance of pre-planning before purchasing equipment.

On a personal note it was great to meet people whose work online I’d read or followed their exploits on Twitter. There was also a tie-in with TMBrum organised by Daniel Harvey on the same evening, timing at both ends meant this did not come off – to my knowledge. However, two presentations of mine with speaker notes provided we represented inBirmingham while I sat in the hall in Ilford.

Nick Novak took a great pic as I was speaking which became my new profile picture onTwitter (see below)the badge links to my posts about Digital Leaders.

20121111-022123.jpg

Why the advert for Teachmeet Essex at the start of the post? Therein lies another post – getting involved in Teachmeet organisation. ( to post soon).

Leave a Reply

