Confidence online

In recent weeks it has become increasingly clear how at home I feel confident using twitter, blogging etc to network with others. Whether I’ve just chatted online or met face to face one or more times, I have always found online communication easier,especially as it allows communication over long distances very easily. This has become important to me in discussing educational ideas like SOLO or sharing thoughts in twitter chats – #ukedchat, #dlchat and #SLTchat. I feel at ease talking to most people and feel that it is okay to express one’s opinions although you do need to think how you phrase points.

This confidence has helped in being involved with #TMEssex as I have found myself actively seeking presenters and lurkers to attend. The friends and contacts I have made means I can easily turn to a large range of people for ideas and to ask for feedback.

Is this something that all of us online feel as it seems to be the risk of talking to “faceless” people that worries or scares some colleagues away from online networking.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

