Digital Leaders moves from proposal to recruiting

Monday 30 April sees our school Digital Leader recruiting start.
The first thought was how to reach all Key Stage 3 pupils who are eligible to apply in this first round of applications. Assemblies at the start of the day or through lessons. Looking at my own timetable I have access to many of the groups, so I arranged with the other members of the department team to speak to groups in classes.
Then, how to remind pupils throughout the three week application period. A keynote presentation converted to PDF is now installed as part of the rolling screen on the school’s digital display screens.

A flyer was prepared in Pages and also converted to PDF. This reminds applicants of the e-mail address to send their Digital application to and aspects of the post.
So, bring on Monday – how many applicants will we get? What sort of applications will they make? How will we best showcase their work for others to appreciate? I like the way that this process continues to throw up new challenges.

20120428-201356.jpg

20120428-201419.jpg

20120428-201448.jpg

2 responses to “Digital Leaders moves from proposal to recruiting

  1. An interesting post. Your ideas look great.
    Hello. I am trying something similar but had a different approach which has half worked and half not. I set all Y7 geography an extended homework (called ILT at our school) and if they wanted i said they could complete it using IT and so be considered for to become a Geography Technology Ambassador. I think I sold it as a bit of a geeky idea so applications were a little patchy , but i did receive some REALLY good ones. Now I am not sure whether to continue with just the few Y7’s I have or retry with an approach similar to yours.
    How many DL’s are you looking to get and how big is your school? What years are you aiming at?
    @dukkhaboy

  2. Thanks for the comment and feedback.

    I have the advantage of having the lead role for cross curricular ICT so my project is not just based in geography. I have been looking at involving pupils for a while but needed to lay some ground work in school to make sure the initiative was supported at SLT level. I got involved in the #DLChat development from February this year on twitter. I am now a keen advocate online and in meetings locally and via Teachmeets to get schools involved.
    We have just over 1000 on roll. How many applications do I expect? To be honest I am unsure apart from a core of 5 of my top set yr 8 geographers who regularly use Goanimate and YouTube for homework presentations. The crunch for many will be committing to a weekly meeting.I have many ideas of projects ahead and will continue to post about them.
    Have you looked at the work of http://www.digitalleadernetwork.co.uk ? If not sign up on the map. And twin with us for online collaboration as we already chat a lot on Twitter.
    Any other post readers out there who would like to link up? The network is not exclusive to UK schools.

Leave a Reply

